Two publications win top national awards

The Associated Collegiate Press selected the 2004 edition of N.C. State’s literary magazine, the Windhover, from 57 entries as one of five winners in the 2004 Magazine Pacemaker competition. This edition, affectionately known as “magazine in a box,” was edited by Shawna Jones and designed by Will Hall. The Windhover has received the award nine other times, including for the 2003 edition.

The 2005 edition of the Windhover, edited by Brian Darragh and designed by Josh Gajownik, took home the Best of Show trophy, making it the top magazine at the Kansas City CMA/ACP convention.

In addition, for the first time, another N.C. State publication, the Agromeck, edited by Jaime Trivette, was, from 62 entries, one of five books to win a 2004 Yearbook Pacemaker. Other top staff members on the 2004 edition included Josh Bassett, designer; Austin Dowd, photo editor; Rob Bradley, Pete Ellis and Ray Black, photographers; and Erik Snyder and Adam Dunn, writers. The Agromeck is published by Taylor Publishing of Dallas, Texas.

The 2005 edition of the Agromeck, edited by Josh Bassett, placed fifth in the Best of Show competition.

Since 1927, the Pacemaker has been the highest honor ACP gives to its members.

“These are very special awards,” Bradley Wilson, adviser to both publications said. “It really puts both the magazine and the yearbook at the very top of collegiate media.”

In addition, Wilson said, in addition to providing recognition for the quality of the work, it’s also recognition for the amount of time the students spend producing such quality publications.

“Awards are a way of recognizing quality work,” he said. “They enable us to compare how we’re doing to how our peers are doing. Our students spend so many hours up here documenting the history of the University on a daily, weekly or yearly basis, it’s great to see them recognized at the national level.”

The Rebel from East Carolina University (Ryan Strohl, editor; William Clutter, adviser) also won a Pacemaker in the magazine competition. No other North Carolina school won a Pacemaker in the yearbook competition.

In addition to the top publication awards given by the Associated Collegiate Press, ACP announced that two Technician designers won individual awards in the 2005 ACP Design of the Year competition co-sponsored by Adobe Systems.

Thushan Amarasiriwardena served as Technician co-editor during the 2003-2004 academic year and now is a content producer for Boston Globe.

Patrick Clarke is now the managing editor of the Technician.

  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, newspaper, page one, third place
  • Patrick Clarke, news page/spread, first place
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, illustration, first place

Other winners in the design competition are posted on the ACP Web site as are winners in the story, photo, reporter, cartooning and advertising competitions.