Skip to main content

Student Media groups bring home 29 awards from state conference

Agromeck, Nubian Message, Technician and Windhover brought home a total of 29 awards from the 2020 North Carolina College Media Association’s annual conference and awards ceremony held Saturday, Feb. 29 at East Carolina University.

The publications and individuals winning awards in this year’s competition included the following:

Best of Show – Literary Magazine

  • Windhover

Best Poetry – Literary Magazine

  • First Place – Bryan Cambra for “New Testament” (Windhover)

Best Fiction – Literary Magazine

  • First Place – Claire Spina for “Zugunruhe” (Windhover)

Best Two-Page Spread – Literary Magazine

  • First Place – Ashley Darrisaw for “Prose Spread” (Windhover)

Best of Show – Yearbook

  • Agromeck

Best Student Life Copy – Yearbook

  • First Place – Sam Griffin for “Silent No Longer” (Agromeck)
  • Second Place – Madison Earp for “Drop the Tailgate” (Agromeck)

Best Photography – Yearbook

  • First Place – Nick Faulkner for “Buzzer Beater” (Agromeck)

Best Inside Spread Design – Yearbook

  • Second Place – Nathan Wyatt-Ingram for “Sweet Victory” (Agromeck)

Best of Show – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • Technician

Best of Show – Online News

  • Technician

Best Cartoon – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • First Place – Sindy Huang for “Financial Advice” (Technician)
  • Honorable Mention – Sunshine Change for “Show Your Thought Process” (Technician)

Best Digital Storytelling – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • Second Place – Eric Matthews, Minh Pham, Alexander Figgatt and Matt Norris for “Indie, hip-hop and local legends band together for Hopscotch” (Technician)
  • Honorable Mention – Alicia Thomas and Boz Kaloyanov for “No Hate at NC State holds massive protest against TPUSA event” (Technician)
  • Honorable Mention – Alicia Thomas, Nick Faulkner and Amrita Malur for “Democratic presidential candidate Elizabeth Warren draws in thousands at Raleigh town hall” (Technician)

Best Feature Writing – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • Honorable Mention – Yesenia Jones for “Black Immigrants: The Forgotten Immigrant Narrative” (Nubian Message)

Best Illustration/Graphic – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • First Place – Rafael Zingle for “Transportation, parking drive difficulties for graduate student workers” (Technician)
  • Second Place – Kyle Howe for “Mandatory Senior Design Program causes contention among engineering students” (Technician)
  • Third Place – Anna Lee for “”NC State will be negatively affected if government shutdown persists” (Technician)

Best News Writing – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • First Place – Rachael Davis, Alicia Thomas and Boz Kaloyanov for “‘A toxic relationship’: Student leaders class with SI director for months before departure” (Technician)
  • Second Place – Rachael Davis for “Despite rumors, fibers program to remain in College of Design; false advertising concerns arise” (Technician)

Best Opinion Writing – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • Third Place – Shawn Fredericks for “Pan-Af Week is Not Pan-African” (Nubian Message)

Best Photography – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • First Place – Nick Faulkner for “Buzzer Beater” (Technician)
  • Second Place – Sarah Cochran (Technician)
  • Honorable Mention – David Tracey for “Baseball” (Technician)

Best Single- or Two-Page Design – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • Second Place – Elikem Dodor and Ugonna Ezuma-Igwe for “Watch the Throne” (Nubian Message)

Best Sports Writing – Newspaper (Large Campus Division)

  • First Place – Jake Caccavaro for “Cunane ready to embrace new role as one of ACC’s finest” (Technician)
  • Second Place – Andrew Schnittker, Alec Sawyer and Camden Speight for “The right job at the right time: Yow leaves legacy of success, culture change at NC State” (Technician)