Skip to main content

Agromeck wins Gold Circle awards

N.C. State’s Agromeck yearbook continues its winning tradition with the announcement of the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s Gold Circle Awards. The CSPA revealed the winners in the yearbook and digital media categories for this annual contest honoring individual achievement by student writers, editors, designers and photographers. Newspaper and magazine recipients will be named in September.

More than 5,500 entries were accepted in 42 yearbook and 51 digital media categories. Agromeck was the only North Carolina publication to be honored. 

Shackathon page 1Shackathon page 2

Agromeck’s coverage of Shack-a-thon earned the yearbook Gold Circle awards for academic photography (left) and organization writing.

  • Second Place for Academic Photo: Jordan Moore, “Shack-a-thon”
  • Second Place for People Spread with Mug Photos: Chelsea Brown, “Throw off your caps”
  • Third Place for People Spreads without Mug Photos One Spread: Sharon Eshet, “The Spell that ended it all”
  • Certificate of Merit for Organization/Greek Writing: Mark Herring, “A dining tradition”
  • Certificate of Merit for Organization/Greek Writing: Elizabeth Moomey, “Raising money one shack at a time”
  • Certificate of Merit for Personality Profile: Kathryn Glaser, “Cultivating culture”

The 2012 Agromeck was edited by Kathryn Glaser under adviser Martha Collins. Other staff included Summer 2011 Editor Susannah Brinkley, Fall 2011 Design Editor Sharon Eshet, Spring 2012 Design Editor Chelsea Brown and Photo Editor Jordan Moore. The book earned a Silver Crown from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association in March 2013 and is nominated for an Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker.