Windhover, Technician win Gold Circle awards

N.C. State Student Media received 12 national Gold Circle awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. Now in its 29th year, the contest attracted more than 10,000 entries from student-produced newspapers and magazines at high schools and colleges across the country. Work published between June 16, 2011 and June 15, 2012 was judged in 34 magazine and 78 newspaper categories. The 2012 Windhover, edited by Alanna Howard, received five awards and Technician earned seven awards under editor-in-chief Laura Wilkinson.


The 2012 Windhover, shown here with inside flap table of contents, won second place for cover design in the CSPA’s Gold Circle awards.

Gold Circle — Magazine

  • First place for literary portfolio: Chelsea Amato
  • First place for general use of typography through magazine: Chelsea Amato, Javan Sutton and Ian Thomas
  • Second place for cover design: Chelsea Amato, Javan Sutton and Ian Thomas
  • Certificate of merit for table of contents page: Chelsea Amato, Javan Sutton and Ian Thomas
  • Certificate of merit for literary multi-page presentation: Chelsea Amato, Javan Sutton and Ian Thomas
Big Guns Design

This design by Taylor Cashdan from a Sept. 27, 2011 Technician review of “Gears of War 3” earned a Gold Circle award for feature page design.

Gold Circle — Newspaper

  • First place for personality profile: Mark Herring, “Paris to Paris”
  • First place for photography portfolio of work: Jordan Moore
  • Third place for feature page design portfolio of work: Taylor Cashdan
  • Third place for feature page design broadsheet format: Taylor Cashdan, “Big guns, bigger finish”
  • Third place for headline writing: Staff, exam issue April 2012
  • Certificate of merit for single subject news or feature package: broadsheet format: Taylor Cashdan, “The heart of service and activism”
  • Certificate of merit for sports commentary: Sean Fairholm, “Pack well overdue for some sunshine”

Gold Circle awards for yearbooks were announced in February 2012, with Agromeck earning 13 for the 2011 book.