Agromeck yearbook staff members win national awards

The staff of the 2005 Agromeck yearbook received four national Gold Circle Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.

According to CSPA, “Gold Circle Awards are offered to recognize superior work by student journalists usually as individuals but sometimes as an entire staff working with either print or online media.”

According to CSPA, 3,952 collegiate entries were submitted for this annual competition and about 1,000 awards were given in 75 categories. The awards were announced and presented at the Association’s annual convention in March in New York City.

“Columbia is proud to give these awards to these energetic and talented student journalists,” Edmund J. Sullivan, CSPA director, said. “We congratulate them on their enterprising work.”

First Place in Yearbook Theme and Concept: Staff

First Place in Organization or Greek Spread: Josh Bassett and Nathan Bullen

Second Place Certificate for Sports Reporting: Austin Johnson

Certificate of Merit for Yearbook Sports Action Photograph: Taylor Templeton

Josh Bassett was the editor of the 2005 edition of the Agromeck. Austin Dowd was the photo editor.

Complete listing of the 2006 Collegiate Gold Circle Awards