Windhover wins national Pacemaker; Designers recognized at national level

The Associated Collegiate Press awarded the Windhover, the literary magazine at N.C. State Univeristy, a national Pacemaker award, the highest award given by the ACP and often compared to the Pulitzer Prize of collegiate journalism.

ACP also awarded three N.C. State students national individual awards.

  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, honorable mention, news spread
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, first place, infographic
  • Taylor Templeton, first place, feature photo
  • Rob Bradley, third place, sports photo

In addition, seven N.C. State students were recognized and published in the College Media Advisers’ “The Best of Collegiate Design.”

  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, fourth place, advertisement
  • Win Bassett, third place, feature page
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena and Taylor Templeton for feature page
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, Taylor Templeton and Carie Windham for editorial/opinion page
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena, second place sports page
  • Emmett Byrne, fifth place literary magazine features spread
  • Will Hall, first place yearbook cover design
  • Will Hall, first place yearbook division page
  • Will Hall, fourth place yearbook sports spread
  • Thushan Amarasiriwardena and Doug Steigerwald, fifth place online main page

Since 1928, ACP’s Pacemaker competition has been considered to be collegiate journalism’s highest honor. The Windhover has received the award eight times, in 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002.

Sarah Timberlake edited the 2003 edition and it was designed by Emmet Byrne. Timberlake was named by the ACP a “Leader of the Student Press in North America” for her contributions to the publication. According to Tom Rolnicki, executive director of ACP, “ACP’s Leaders of the Student Press in North America is a who’s who of the best student editors, reporters, photographers, designers and other journalists.”

The awards were presented at the National College Media Convention Nov. 3-7, 2004 in Nashville.